## Year 6 Geography Knowledge Organiser

Term: Spring 2/Summer 1 Topic: South America

## Key facts that I will recall by the end of this unit:

- Brazil is the largest country in South America and the 5th largest in the world.
- Like North America, South America is also a continent. It has
  12 countries plus 2 regions that belong to European countries.
- Countries in South America have a variety of climates however countries in the Amazon basin (Amazon river) like Northern Brazil, Peru and Colombia are dominated by the rainforest and have hot and humid weather.
- The Equator runs through the north of the continent. The country Ecuador literally means 'equator' in Spanish.
- Most of the South American continent is in the Southern Hemisphere.



continent	a large landmass made up of many countries
environmental region	a place with its own nature and ecosystem that cannot be changed
Equator	an imaginary line around the middle of the world
latitude	imaginary parallel lines which circle the globe from east to west.
longitude	imaginary lines which run north to south across the globe from pole to pole
oceans and coastlines	the coast is the margin of land next to an ocean
topographical	arrangement of physical features in an area
Northern Hemisphere	the half of Earth (hemisphere) that is north of the Equator
Southern Hemisphere	the half of Earth (hemisphere) that is south of the Equator



Brazil

Guyana

